top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

August RCM Exams


My studio is feeling very empty. It's August and I consider myself lucky to have the students that I do have still with me- it feels like it's been a very drawn out summer, at least for me. I have a few students that are still coming weekly but I recently had 3 of my students complete their RCM examinations. It dawned on me during their last lessons before the exam that I really couldn't take the exam with them, that I wanted so badly to take them, hold their hands and cheer them on.... but that isn't what I do. I cheer them on and give them everything they can BEFORE the exam. I make sure they know that I think they are amazing piano players and musicians BEFORE the exam. I tell them that they should have fun and that it will be over in 8 minutes BEFORE the exam. I give them high-fives and big hugs and review the same scales and the same songs hoping and praying and crossing all my fingers and toes that they do well. Actually, I'm just hoping that their experience isn't crushing and that they come back.

I think my fear around sending my students for exams is that I don't necessarily agree with the whole shabang, particularly for ones at such a young age. I can see that the skills they've learned in the last year make our time worth it; regardless if they are in RCM grade 2 or 7. Plus, it lasts about 8 minutes long and what can that really tell an examiner anyway? In these situations I think about my older sister E, who was (and still is) a sensitive soul growing up. I could just envision her going into the exam all prepared with her glasses and worried smile - and being entirely overwhelmed and never wanting to return. I spend so much effort creating a relaxed environment that is condusive to mistake-making that I just wish with all my heart I could control the examining atmosphere. I remember my exams, some were terrifying and some were a blur and others went well. So to combat my anxiety, and perhaps whatever level of nervousness my students have I decided to tell them what I learned about them and from them in the last year. I thought that would be a good way to round out the year we spent working on these songs and to let them know that they really are special to me.

From one of my students S, I learned that she really has a big personality. She was so shy when she first started and it is just wonderful to see her come out of her shell. I learned that she's funny and wickedly smart and also a very passionate person. From another student S, I learned that she has a huge potential to focus! In the last year we had gone from splitting up a half hour lesson to a full on 45 minute lesson. I learned that she has a lot of fun singing folk songs, but also likes classical and worship music. The last of the three to write an exam, K showed me that she loves taking on a meaningful challenge. She is able to work both smart and hard and she is a very very dedicated student and piano player. I watched her perservere this year like no other and teaching a student with such patience was a real gift.

I have a bit of break for the rest of August, which is less relaxing and really filled with anticipatory joy as I wait to start teaching my full student roster again. Hoping everyone else out there who's doing RCM exams is feeling cool and collected!!!!!!!


bottom of page