top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Let it Snow! Our 2016 Winter Recital


Last night my family and I piled home after a celebratory dinner. The 2016 Winter Concert was finished and there was a palpable weight lifted off my shoulders. What I felt wasn't just relief or mere exhaustion it was pure joy. I felt like my heart was about to explode with gratitude, excitement, peace and love - I could barely stand it! I only slept about four hours, as I toss and turned in my bed re-playing the concert over and over again in my mind.

I was so fortunate this year to join with a good friend of my Cat Bernardi who is a soulful musician, songwriter and educator in Toronto. By combining our students we packed a church sanctuary with family, friends and performers. Hearing all of our students play was so wonderful! Watching their parents get excited and take pictures and film them was beautiful. Seeing the outpour of community support brings me to tears even now.

To me, this is a richness in life I could have never foreseen, especially so soon in my career as a teacher. As my calling brings me deeper into a love for music and children and community, answering this call feels easy.

There are moments like last night when such a deep sense of joy brings out a touch of grief. It is hard to explain how the presence of sadness often accompanies happiness but I believe these feelings are sisters, not enemies. Although my mom passed before I started teaching piano, during last night's celebration I felt my mom with me and each of my students.

Woohoo! They did it! We did it! So proud of my students.

Here were a few tips and tricks that helped me plan the recital.

1. Handing out invitations early

Invitations were given out the week after Thanksgiving (October) for a December Recital

2. All song choices were finalized by November

Students worked towards a specific goal with the December recital in mind. This allowed the lessons to feel a bit more poignant and as we entered back into the swing of the school year, it definitely helped focus practicing.

3. I photocopied all accompaniment into 1 binder I kept with me at all times

*What I would do next year is also photocopy all of the students pieces, in case someone forgets their music*

4. Cat and I asked for donations

This was the saving grace because it actually covered the cost of renting the space.

By NOT charging an admittance fee, I am able to entice people to bring extended family.

5. Goodies for the kids

If you're a local music teacher and interested in collaborating in the future let me know! How do you organize, plan and set up your recitals?

Merry Christmas xox


bottom of page