top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Piano Lessons & The Culture of Taking. A Rant.


My sister usually describes me as someone who goes 'all in'. Black or White, Love or Hate, Chocolate or Vanilla. So what does that mean for someone who is also the sole employee / boss of her own business? Well, lately it means I've been landing on the side of Soft instead of Hard. Burnt instead of Energized, Unpaid instead of Paid. PLUS, it's May. In terms of teaching it's like the pits. Everyone's giving up.... the mentality just seems to be "it's almost June, this is almost over". Except, piano isn't over in summer! It doesn't have to be over!!!!!!

As I'm beginning to round off a school year and dive into new summer programming I'm making notes and taking names of what will make me a stronger more successful business owner with a healthier more consistent culture, especially for the fall. However, here is rant of how May seems to bring out a time where I feel conflicted, exhausted and in love with teaching.

1. Culture of Taking

Yes, I love teaching music. Yes, I love what I do and not many people can say that... but it doesn't mean I'm not serious about my job. Ultimately what I'm providing is a service, but what I've caught myself giving is sometimes so far beyond that service that I am left depleted. If you're a teacher of any kind, look at your expenses... they say a lot!

It's so challenging to talk about feeling taken advantage of because the parents and students who are respectful and so rewarding make it completely worth it. However, it's that grey zone of people who don't take me seriously enough to pay me on time, or challenge my cancellation policy or are habitually 20 minutes late for pick up. I love teaching your kids, I practice not resenting your kids but this part of my job (if I'm a doormat about it) isn't life giving.

2. Forget your cheque book? No Problem... that will be an extra 10% please

It unfortunately has come to this, but I will be giving parents/students a 24 hour payment window (after the lesson is taken) to pay via cash, cheque or etransfer. After that, the amount will increase by 10% and the slot will become available for another student. I have only ever once forgotten to pay for a service until I was reminded about it and I was mortified. Now, I set alarms and reminders or I just pre-pay when I know i'm going in for laser treatment, to see my nutritionist or to get my hair done. There's no question, you just pay.

I think I'm struggling because when someone "forgets" my panicked "oh $h!t" response is "that's okay, it's no big deal" - UGH. Why did I say that? I MEAN THE EXACT OPPOSITE. IT IS A BIG DEAL, I WANT TO BUY FOOD. I'm seriously going to work on that. It obviously contributes to my feeling of being taken advantage of, except instead of being steam-rolled I'm volunteering to lie down. Come on, we can do better.

3. Students will leave me for convenience. No matter how much I love them / they are better off in my hands.

Despite being Black or White, Yes or No, Now or Never... my mother taught me that the customer is always right. So, in being the leader of this business I am a mega people-pleaser. For me this comes with too much experience in being overly accommodating. I figured that out after working a Saturday schedule that was 8:45 AM - 6:45 PM with one break for 5 months. I just didn't want to tell anyone that I had no slots left on Saturday, or that I was tired after 4 students, or that I couldn't make it work.

I can be the most hard working, giving, loving and spirit-filled piano teacher but chances are if you want a Saturday time slot at 9:00 AM you will have to wait a few years. It's a blessing! I'm a busy piano teacher, not many piano teachers have full rosters or have to think about cutting back. However, if that's the scenario that I'm in I also have to reconcile that at a 'lesson-farm' where teachers are sometimes great and sometimes hungover* they usually have someone free at 9:00 AM on a Saturday. So, if I'm trying to squash the culture of taking that I've created or at least feel from time to time I have to learn to say NO.

No, I do not have 9:00 AM on Saturday but my Thursday is wide open.

No, I cannot teach your child because you haven't paid in two weeks.

No, your child will not be RCM ready by September if you're taking the summer off.

Yes, I can make a payment arrangement if you can't afford monthly deposits

Yes, I'm having 1 party and 1 recital a year.

Yes, I love my job.

Yes, I'm going to school full time in September and my schedule will change but I'll do my best to accommodate my students without compromising the degree I'm going into debt for.

*having working at many 'lesson centres' you'd be surprised how unqualified teachers are. Somehow the term 'teacher' also covers older-still struggling-musician*


bottom of page