top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

T is for Teaching... and Tunics!!!


There is something so comforting about wearing a tunic! I feel professional and feminine, I can dress up or down, I can wear tights or jeans.... it's just the perfect thing to wear. I started realizing that tunics were perfect when I noticed that one of my PolySci professors only ever wears tunics in lecture. Sure, I see her once a week but each week she has such a great tunic, I am constantly thinking, "yes, I would wear that". Lo and behold, my wardrobe is full of tunics.

Why ? What's so great about a tunic? Well, I am convinced that they are a staple in any teacher's closet.

1. They are flowy but can still have structure

2. Since tunics are flowy with structure, they move with you! This is ideal when you could be sitting, standing, dancing, clapping, singing, stretching.... you name it, this garment is committed. 3. They can be in pretty much any material/pattern/textile

4. You can find ones that actually cinch in at the waist!

5. They will cover your butt! < it's so important that when you're teaching and you are sitting or on the floor or reaching or bending that you're butt is covered. Not for anything other than comfort really, also the reality that pulling up your pants isn't profesh. 6. You can go from brunch to teaching to date night smoothly. 7. They are great for all seasons, especially transitional seasons! (Note : I even have tunic-sweaters, which I guess are like sweater-dresses, but they are more like tunic in that I'd never wear a dress that hit just below my hips) 8. I feel great and confident when I'm wearing a beautiful tunic, and I think that confidence speaks for itself.

9. Did I mention before that you can wear tights underneath them? That is a seriously important note because tights are a wonderful thing. Are tights pants? Not really. However a tunic that covers your butt and helps you look both structured and comfortable allows for the tights to be an obvious pairing choice. That wonderful elastic of tights is no longer offensive or out of style. Plus, if you're like me and you wear your tights extra high for comfort .... no one will notice.

10. Basically tunics let you feel as comfortable as a grandma and as stylish and contemporary as anyone else. DO IT. Buy a tunic, you wont regret it.

Tunics that I like/have. From Modcloth, this gorgeous flannel number, called "Crock Pot Connoisseur Tunic". Also from Modcloth this more bohemian tunic called Prancing Partner Tunic. From Penningtons this is an 'army inspired' look.

Loving this Cross Back Tunic from ASOS.


bottom of page