top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

My First Studio Recital!

Yes! We did it!

I hosted my very first studio recital this past Sunday November 14th at a local church. It wasn't fancy, it wasn't glamorous but it was beautiful! 10 of my 21 students were invited and and 9 of them performed. Since I had such a large influx in registration this fall, and the recital felt too early for some of my students who just started. I let all my students know the recital was happening and either invited them to perform, or let them know that the recital is reserved for students that have been studying for at least a year.

I got taught lessons that morning and arrived at the church just over an hour early to set up. There was already a grandparent waiting! I had the help of my family and a few friends to set up chairs and the piano (which didn't have wheels!!). I set up 40 chairs, the upright piano, a microphone with a stand and a small amplifier. I also placed signs around the church that indicated how to find the church hall or to 'please enter quietly'.

I have been prepping for this day for so long- it feels like this was my biggest goal of the year and I can check it off ! Wahoo !!!! I initially booked this date back in April and was terrified that no one would show up or that I wouldn't have enough students or interest. However, all my hard work paid off. I can really walk away from this experience feeling like I didn't leave a stone unturned - Set list, piano blotter, certificates, reminder emails, rehearsal, piano music, lyrics for singers, appropriate outfit, song to perform myself ! Done, done and done.

Since I didn't pay to use the church hall (I gave a donation instead), I also didn't charge any entrance fee. I think next year I will ask for a donation to go towards rental equiptment becuase that was $100.00 from Cosmo music. At least by not charging an entrance fee students were able to bring whoever they wanted. That felt really special! Seeing grandparents and cousins come out to support their loved one was so special. Some of my students even dressed up! It was a really special day for all of us.

I got a lot of hugs from parents and students, my dad bought me flowers - and also gets the award for officially sitting through every recital including the one I hosted. Yes, it was scary. Yes, it did test me professionally and while I can list all of the things I'd want to improve or just ideas for next time, I am so proud of the event. My students sounded phenomenal and like themselves!! That was so important to me, they each sounded like their own person making music- not like me! (which can happen in a lot of studio performances, student just all end up sounding like their teacher).

I feel this great sense of relief knowing that my clients, my students and their parents, are happy and motivated to continue working with me, that my worried and sometimes jittery nights were worth it and that we get to do it all again next year. YAY!

bottom of page