top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

F is for February... and so much more!


I don't think I'm the only one who felt it; January was the month that just wouldn't end. As I've previously written, I love the beginning of the year. I love making resolutions, fresh starts and the feeling of a finished chapter. However, January 2016 may go down in my history as feeling like the longest month ever. According to some sources this is because Mercury is in retrograde, making time feel sluggish and less propelled. However, if you're not into astrology and wont chalk it up to galactic issues, than what gives? How can we make February better? Well, here are my plans to make February less taxed by our beloved Mercury. These ideas can be applied to self - work - school and of course, piano study and the studio!

1. Focus : My focus at the beginning of January was immaculate. I was committed to change, committed to action and committed to whatever project I could get my hands on. Now, I'm finding my focus and my student's focus dimming. I think February is a perfect time to reevaluate and redefine goals. There's no way to find focus if we are exhausted or feeling unaccomplished.

I'm challenging my students this month to really focus on reading music. For some students this means meticulously colouring or labeling or singing each name of the note before and while they play. For other students it means that we will do theory work in session together, so I can gauge their musical literacy and for other students it requires a much slower pace, to internalize the notation system.

2. Finish, Finito, Fine! : What's great about hearty focus is that it produces results. There is nothing like the feeling of accomplishment. In this circumstance finish means to create a goal, execute the goal and finish the goal all within the month of February. For my students, this means harnessing that focus and creating simple, achievable goals. Such as finishing the theory or performance book they're using. Play and record their first hands together song.

Plus, it gives us weekly material to work on that is individual to the student. Since we're also focusing on reading music, their tasks may even be easier than before.

3. Flexibility : Like everything else in life, being too regimented has it's downside. I want to motivate my students through this month so that with spring comes new opportunities. Starting new books or new series, beginning recorder or singing. However, being flexible and maintaining a calm and positive outlook regarding goals is the only way to motivate my students with interest in their long term goals. I subscribe to the method of motivation through inspiration and that of course requires flexibility.

4. Fun: It wouldn't be February without Valentines Day and the excitement of chocolate and love. Having fun in February means learning about what my students love; to do, to listen to, to make. It's different for all of them, and it's important for me to take their interests and loves seriously.

That way, when our focus falls short knowing their favourite singer or favourite sport can bridge a complete meltdown to a teachable and successful moment.

I'm encouraging everyone to follow these four F's for February. It's a short month, but we can get through it by really dedicating our time and our energy towards simple and reachable goals.

March will be grateful for it!

bottom of page