top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

February Favourites


February was a great transition month, and like I previously posted it was a great month for settling in and refocusing. Here are some of the highlights I'd like to share :

1) Recorder!

This funky little instrument can pack a punch! I've transitioned about 4 students to playing recorder. They have either brought their recorder home from music class or have been invited to start learning as a reward for hard work and significant improvement in piano. What a blast it's been introducing students to a new form of music making. On one very lively Thursday, two of my students and I formed a recorder trio playing the well known folk tune "Hot Cross Buns" !!

2) RCM over-haul

This month I've also transitioned some of my students to the Royal Conservatory of Music. It's been really exciting to see how this well known and curated curriculum can still be full of joy, spark and imagination. I think a huge part of that is knowing what level students are ready for. One of my students began RCM grade 3 never having played the series before. It was a perfect fit for him! It's seriously magical when you can combine excitement and challenge.

3) Introducing Schmitt

At the tail end of this month, flowing into March I will be introducing Schmitt Exercises to my students. I've noticed that harnessing evenness and flexibility is especially important for students gaining access to more difficult material. I will soon add a link to a Schmitt PDF for anyone who would also like to access that material for their students.

4) Pilates

A personal favourite; I just started pilates and I'm excited for how this movment will inform my body awareness. I'm also ready to kiss having a sore back GOOD BYE! Now that I sit on a chair instead of a bench when I'm teaching, there's no reason not to strengthen and lengthen my muscles now!

5) Reading Week Bliss & Post Reading Week Chaos

Jeremy came home for reading week, which included dad's birthday, valentines day and eating ice cream at Sweet Jesus. Also, lots of fun and lovely together time. Having a week off in the middle of the semester is a life saver! The Post Reading Week Chaos was hadinging in two projects I spent a lot of time on, that I feel really proud about. I can almost taste the sweetness of graudation!!!!

These were my Feb Favourites! Hope you had a wonderful month!!

PS. It's leap day, so anything you do today I more productive than you were last year!


bottom of page